Get Involved.

Sign Up Today

Wagner Introduces PRENDA Ahead of March For Life

Jan 17, 2018
Press Release

WASHINGTON – Accompanied by 29 original cosponsors, Congresswoman Ann Wagner (MO-02) introduced H.R. 4660, the Prenatal Nondiscrimination Act (PRENDA), to ban discrimination against the unborn on the basis of sex. The sad truth is that victims of sex-selection abortions are overwhelmingly female. In fact, the United Nations estimates that 113,000,000 to 200,000,000 girls are demographically “missing” from around the world due to sex-selection abortions, infanticide, and other forms of gender-based violence. This is why I was surprised to learn that girls are targeted for abortions not only in countries like China and India, but right here in the United States. Sex-selection abortions victimize both mother and daughter, and have no place in a just society.

"The victims of sex-selection abortions performed in the United States and worldwide are overwhelmingly female," said Congresswoman Wagner. "Our society has the obligation to end sex discrimination in all forms, respect women of all ages, and value the endless contributions that women provide to our country. The right to equality under the law begins on the first day of life."

A sex-selection abortion is an abortion undertaken for purposes of eliminating an unborn child based solely on their gender. Sex-selection abortion is an act of sex-based or gender-based violence, predicated on sex discrimination. Sex-selection abortions are not prohibited by U.S. law, and only seven states ban abortions for reason of sex selection at some point in pregnancy. Our children deserve better.

The list of cosponsors includes: Rep. Virginia Foxx, Rep. Marsha Blackburn, Rep. Vicky Hartzler, Rep. Diane Black, Rep. Kevin Brady, Rep. Ted Yoho, Rep. Doug Lamborn, Rep. Brian Babin, Rep. Joe Wilson, Rep. Kevin Yoder, Rep. Todd Rokita, Rep. Christopher Smith, Rep. Blaine Luetkemeyer, Rep. Alexander Mooney, Rep. Jody Hice, Rep. Gus Bilirakis, Rep. Jeff Duncan, Rep. Peter Roskam, Rep. Michael Conaway, Rep. Bill Johnson, Rep. Keith Rothfus, Rep. Bob Gibbs, Rep. Ralph Lee Abraham, Rep. Markwayne Mullin, Rep. Bradley Byrne, Rep. Bill Huizenga, Rep. Ralph Norman, Rep. Luke Messer, and Rep. Paul Gosar.

The list of supporting organizations includes: National Right to Life, Concerned Women for America, March for Life Action, Susan B. Anthony List, Eagle Forum, Campaign Life Missouri, Missouri Family Policy Council, Invisible Girl Project, Americans United for Life, Missouri Right to Life, Family Research Council, Alliance for Life, Students for Life, Live Action.